Two Professors Named First Academy Film Scholars


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has named two professors as the first Academy Film Scholars. The program was started to “stimulate and support the creation of new, innovative, and significant works of film scholarship about aesthetic, cultural, educational, historical, theoretical, or scientific aspects of theatrical motion pictures.” Each scholar receives a cash award of $25,000. Half of the prize was presented at a luncheon at the Beverly Hills Hotel on Thursday; the remaining half will be presented to the awardees upon completion of their projects.p. The recipients, their affiliations, and their projects:p. Tino Balio, a professor of film at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, for “A Radically Different Cinema: Foreign Films in America, 1948 to the Present.”p. Donald Crafton , a professor of communication and theater at the University of Notre Dame , in South Bend, Ind., for “Shadow of a Mouse: Animation and American Culture in the 1930s.”

TopicID: 283