Two physics professors elected to American Physical Society


Two University of Notre Dame physicists have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society (APS).p. Albert-Laszlo Barabasi, Emil T. Hofman Professor of Physics, was cited ‘for his discovery of scale-free networks and for his theories of surface roughening and strained surfaces." Stefan G. Frauendorf, professor of physics, was recognized ?for his seminal contributions to the physics of rotating nuclei via mean-field symmetries."p. The society’s fellowship program was created to honor members who have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication or who have made significant and innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology.p. Each year, no more than one-half of 1 percent of the then-current membership of the society is elected.p. Barabasi is a pioneer in networking as a unified scientific theory and the author of “Linked: The New Science of Networks.” He has examined network patterns in all aspects of life, from the worldwide spread of AIDS to the social relationships among Hollywood film luminaries.p. Frauendorf’s research interests involve the physical properties of atomic and non-nuclear mesoscopic systems, as clusters of atoms and quantum dots.p. Barabasi and Frauendorf join the ranks of 13 other current APS fellows in the Department of Physics: Ani Aprahamian, H. Gordon Berry, Jacek K. Furdyna, Umesh Garg, Walter R. Johnson, James J. Kolata, A. Eugene Livingston, Grant J. Mathews, James L. Merz, Randal C. Ruchti, Jonathan R. Sapirstein, Carol E. Tanner, and Michael C. Wiescher.

TopicID: 4116