Teaching awards honor exemplary work with undergraduates

Author: Shannon Roddel

Joyce and Dockweiler awards

Twenty University of Notre Dame faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and three faculty were honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

Dockweiler Award winners are: Ramzi K. Bualuan, associate professional specialist, computer science and engineering; Joshua B. Kaplan, associate professional specialist, political science; and Holly E. Martin, assistant dean, First Year of Studies.

The 20 winners of Joyce teaching excellence awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations.

Recipients are: John C. Cavadini, theology; Jon T. Coleman, history; Steven A. Corcelli, chemistry and biochemistry; Rev. John S. Dunne, C.S.C., theology; Kenneth E. Filchak, biological sciences; Margaret M. Forster, finance; Stephen A. Fredman, English; Holly V. Goodson, chemistry and biochemistry; Brad S. Gregory, history; Daniel M. Hungerman, economics; Kristin M. Lewis, biological sciences; Chong Keat Arthur Lim, mathematics; Robert C. Nelson, aerospace and mechanical engineering; Walter J. Nicgorski, liberal studies; Carolyn R. Nordstrom, anthropology; Vera B. Profit, German and Russian languages and literatures; Valerie L. Sayers, English; Christian Smith, sociology; Douglas L. Thain, computer science and engineering; and Julianne C. Turner, psychology.

The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937. This is the sixth year that advisors and student mentors are being honored through an award supported by the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation.