Notre Dame to commemorate first anniversary of the death of Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.

Author: Monika Spalinski

Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C. Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.

The life of Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame, who died Feb. 26, 2015, at the age of 97, will be remembered in events on campus and in the community this month.

The Office of Campus Ministry at Notre Dame will host a special musical celebration to honor the one-year anniversary of Father Hesburgh’s death. All are invited to attend the Father Hesburgh Memorial Concert at 8 p.m. Feb. 26 (Friday) at the Basilica of the Sacred Heart. Music will be performed by the Notre Dame Liturgical Choir, Folk Choir, Celebration Choir, Basilica Schola and Coro Primavera. Words of remembrance will also be offered by Rev. Austin Collins, C.S.C., religious superior of Congregation of Holy Cross priests and brothers at Notre Dame and a longtime friend of Father Hesburgh. The free concert will be streamed live online here.

Notre Dame Magazine will commemorate Father Hesburgh by posting on its website a selection of stories published in its special 88-page Father Hesburgh edition. The issue contained about two dozen articles about the priest, along with dozens of quotes and tributes by and about the priest president as well as full photographic and textual coverage of his funeral services. The print edition is available at the magazine’s store at, by calling 574-631-5335 and at the Hammes Notre Dame Bookstore.

WNIT will air the television program “Requiem for a Legend: Remembering Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.,” at 5:30 p.m. Feb. 21 (Sunday) and again at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 26 (Friday). The program honors the life and work of Father Hesburgh.

Father Hesburgh served as president at Notre Dame for 35 years, among the longest terms of presidents of American colleges and universities. He was a prominent figure in higher education, public service and the Catholic Church, and the first person from higher education to be awarded the Congressional Gold Medal.