Historian elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences



Sabine G. MacCormack, Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., Professor of Arts and Letters at the University of Notre Dame, has been elected to theAmericanAcademyof Arts and Sciences (AAAS). She will be formally inducted at a ceremony this fall inCambridge,Mass.

Founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, John Hancock and others, the AAAS is the nations leading learned society. It recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts.

Among others who also were selected this year are New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, former Vice President Al Gore, filmmaker Spike Lee, former U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day OConnor, and actor Robert Redford. The 2007 class of new members includes 226 scholars, scientists and artists, and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders from 27 states and 13 countries.

An internationally renowned scholar of ancientRomeand the Spanish empire, MacCormack specializes in late antiquity and colonialLatin America.Her scholarly publications includeThe Shadows of Poetry: Vergil in the Mind of Augustine,Religion in theAndes: Vision and Imagination in Early Colonial Peru,andArt and Ceremony in Late Antiquity.

MacCormack, a past recipient of a $1.5 million Distinguished Achievement Award for scholars in the humanities from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, was named a fellow of the Medieval Academy of America in 2000 and of the American Philosophical Society in 1997, and was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1999.Previously a professor of classical studies and history at theUniversityofMichigan, MacCormack holds a joint appointment at Notre Dame in the departments of history andclassics and is a faculty fellow in the Universitys Kellogg Institute for International Studies.She earned her bachelor’s and doctoral degrees fromOxfordUniversity.

Fourteen other Notre Dame faculty members have been elected to the AAAS.They are: the late George Craig, professor of biology; Roberto DaMatta, Rev. Edmund P. Joyce Professor of Anthropology; Rev. Gustavo Gutierrez, O.P., John Cardinal O’Hara Professor of Theology; Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus and professor emeritus of theology; Alasdair MacIntyre, research professor of philosophy; Rev. Ernan McMullin, John Cardinal O’Hara Professor Emeritus of Philosophy; Mark Noll, Francis A. McAnaney Professor of History; Guillermo O’Donnell, professor of political science; Timothy O’Meara, provost emeritus and Howard J. Kenna Professor Emeritus of Mathematics; Alvin Plantinga, Rev. John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy; the late Philip Quinn, John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy; Lawrence Sullivan, professor of world religions; Eugene Ulrich, Rev. John A. O’Brien Professor of Theology; and Peter van Inwagen, John Cardinal O’Hara Professor of Philosophy.

TopicID: 22846