Five faculty members appointed to endowed chairs


Five members of the University of Notre Dame faculty have been awarded endowed professorships.

The appointments bring the number of endowed chairs at Notre Dame to 204.

The newly appointed endowed professors are:

College ofArts and Letters

  • Kathryn Kerby-Fulton, Notre Dame Professor of English – Newly appointed to the Notre Dame faculty, Kerby-Fulton specializes in Middle English and Anglo-Irish literature, medieval womens and autobiographical literature, medieval Latin religious writings, cultural history and medieval literary theory. She is the author ofReformist Apocalypticism and Piers Plowman,co-author ofIconography and the Professional Reader,and has co-edited three collections. Her forthcoming book, titledBooks Under Suspicion,will be published in the spring.Kerby-Fulton has served as a visiting scholar at Princeton, Yale andHarvardUniversities. Her research awards include 13 Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) research grants, one SSHRC leave, and fellowships at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton and the Centre for Studies in Religion and Society at theUniversityofVictoria, where she previously served as a faculty member.She earned her doctorate from theUniversityofYork. **

Mendoza College of Business

  • John F. Sherry Jr., Raymond W. and Kenneth G. Herrick Professor of Marketing – An anthropologist, Sherry specializes in the sociocultural and symbolic dimensions of consumption, and the cultural ecology of marketing. He is the editor of two books,Contemporary Marketing and Consumer Behavior: An Anthropological SourcebookandServicescapes: The Concept of Place in Contemporary Markets,and the co-editor of two others,Advances in Consumer ResearchandTime, Space and the Market: Retroscapes Rising.Sherry served for the previous two decades on the faculty ofNorthwesternUniversitys Kellogg School of Management. He earned his bachelors degree from Notre Dame and his masters and doctoral degrees from theUniversityofIllinois. He also has been appointed chair of the marketing department in Notre Dame’s Mendoza College of Business.

p. The Herrick Chair was funded by the late Kenneth Herrick and his father Ray, both of whom led Michigan-based Tecumseh Products Co., a manufacturer of compressors, engines, motors and pumps for air conditioners, refrigeration products, and lawn and garden equipment. The firm is now headed by Todd Herrick, a 1967 Notre Dame graduate.

Notre DameLawSchool **

  • John C. Nagle, John N. Matthews Professor of Law – A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 1998, Nagle teaches courses on environmental law, legislation and property. Among his publications are the casebooksProperty LawandThe Law of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Management.His scholarly concerns include the relationship between religion and environmental law, the scope of congressional power to protect endangered species, alternative approaches to campaign finance reform, and the competing roles of Congress and the courts in correcting statutory mistakes.He is at work on a book examining environmental, cultural and other kinds of pollution. Before joining the Notre Dame faculty, Nagle was an associate professor at theSetonHallUniversitySchoolof Law. He also has worked in the U.S. Department of Justice, first as an attorney in the Office of Legal Counsel, where he advised other executive branch agencies on constitutional and statutory issues, and later as a trial attorney conducting environmental litigation.

p. The John N. Matthews Chair is the gift of Donald J. Matthews, a 1955 Notre Dame graduate and Life Trustee of the University, in honor of his late father, Capt. John N. Matthews, a former ship’s master and founder of a marine cargo firm inNew York.Established in 1967, the chair is Notre Dame’s oldest endowed professorship. **

  • Mary Ellen O’Connell, Robert and Marion Short Professor of Law – O’Connell joined the Notre Dame faculty this year after serving for six years on the faculty of Ohio State Universitys Moritz College of Law. She has practiced law in the firm of Covington&Burling inWashington,D.C., and has lectured and studied in institutions throughoutEurope. The author of two casebooks, five edited collections and more than 30 articles and book chapters, she teaches courses on contracts and international law. Much of her scholarship concerns international legal regulation of the use of force and conflict and dispute resolution, especially peaceful resolution of disputes prior to an escalation to armed conflict.She also studies and lectures on the processes by which international law is made, applied and enforced, as well as on the question of whether it is time for a classical revival in international law.

p. The Robert and Marion Short Chair is a gift from the late Robert E. Short and his wife, Marion, ofMinneapolis. A longtime benefactor of Notre Dame, Robert Short served as a member of theLawSchooladvisory council from 1974 until his death in 1982. A former owner of the Los Angeles Lakers basketball team and the Washington Senators baseball team, he also served as treasurer of the Democratic National Committee. The Shorts had seven children, five of whom earned a total of 10 Notre Dame degrees. Their son Brian is a member of the University’s Law School Advisory Council.

College ofScience **

  • Ikaros Bigi, Grace-Rupley II Professor of Physics – A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 1988, Bigi focuses his research primarily on the development of theoretical ideas that lead to novel experimental searches for new forces beyond the standard model of high energy physics. He was the co-recipient of the American Physical Societys 2004 J.J. Sakurai Prize, which is awarded annually to recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in particle theory. He was cited for pioneering theoretical insights that pointed the way to the very fruitful experimental study of CP violation in B decays, and for continuing contributions to the field of CP and heavy flavor physics. Bigi earned his masters and doctoral degrees from theUniversityofMunichwhile doing his research at the Max-Planck Institute for Physics and his habilitation (a qualification at a higher level than a doctorate within the German university system) from the RWTH Aachen.

p. The Grace-Rupley II Chair in Physics honors Joseph Grace and Allen Rupley, both former chairmen of the board of W.R. Grace&Co., a diversified company.

TopicID: 13682