Father Hesburgh to receive Dick Enberg Award

Author: Dennis Brown


Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame, has been named the 2005 Dick Enberg Award winner by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The award presentation, as well as the induction of five new members into the CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame, will take place Wednesday (July 6) inPhiladelphiaat the conclusion of CoSIDAs annual workshop. Enberg, a longtime sportscaster, will serve as master of ceremonies for the event.

Father Hesburgh served as Notre Dames president from 1952 to 1987, directing the Universitys rise to national prominence in research, scholarship and teaching. His many awards include the Congressional Gold Medal, the highest honor awarded by Congress, and the Medal of Freedom, the nations highest civilian honor. He has received 150 honorary degrees, the most ever bestowed on one person.

Among his contributions to college sports was service from 1990 to 1996 and again in 2000 as co-chair of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics. Nearly 90 percent of the commissions reform agenda has been adopted by the NCAA. In 2004 he received the NCAAs inaugural Gerald Ford Award.

Established in 1997, the Dick Enberg Award is given annually to a person whose actions and commitment have furthered the meaning and reach of the Academic All-America Teams Program and/or the student-athlete while promoting the values ofeducation and academics. Notre Dame has 150 Academic All-America recipients, ranking second among all schools.

The award was created in part to recognize Enberg’s passion and support of the CoSIDA Academic All-America program for more than 20 years, as well as his dedication to education for more than four decades.

Previous winners include Enberg in 1997, followed by John Humenik, Dean Smith, Bill Russell, Notre Dame graduate Justice Alan Page, Donna Shalala and Ted Leland.

TopicID: 12083