Colleges present undergraduate teaching awards

by William G. Gilroy

The Colleges of Arts and Letters, Science and Engineering and the Mendoza College of Business at the University of Notre Dame have selected their outstanding teachers of undergraduates for the 2002-03 academic year.p. In the College of Arts and Letters , Valerie Sayers, professor of English, has been named recipient of the 2003 Sheedy Award for excellence in teaching.p. Endowed by an anonymous donor, the award has been given annually since 1970 in memory of Rev. Charles C. Sheedy, C.S.C., former dean of the college.p. Sayers, who joined the Notre Dame faculty in 1993, is the author of five novels, including “Who Do You Love” and “Brain Fever,” which were named New York Times “Notable Books of the Year.” She has received an NEA fellowship and has served on the NEA Literature Panel. She is a frequent contributor to the New York Times Book Review.p. In the College of Engineering, Stephen E. Silliman, professor of civil engineering and geological sciences, has been named the Outstanding Teacher of the Year.p. A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 1986, Silliman has published numerous articles in the field of hydrology and actively integrated his professional expertise with a commitment to service. In a longtime joint venture between the Department of Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences and the Center for Social Concerns, he has led student teams to Haiti, where they teach local villagers how to repair hand pump wells, the primary source of clean drinking water in that country. Under his direction, a similar program is being launched in the Republic of Benin in western Africa.p. In the College of Science, Gary A. Lamberti, professor and assistant chair of biological sciences, has been chosen as the recipient of the Shilts/Leonard Teaching Award.p. Lamberti, who joined the Notre Dame faculty in 1989, specializes in stream ecology and plant-animal interactions. The goal of his research is to understand the structure and function of stream ecosystems in a changing landscape. His research approach combines laboratory and field studies to investigate important stream processes.p. Established in 1993, the Shilts/Leonard Teaching Award recognizes outstanding teaching in memory of Rev. James L. Shilts, C.S.C., a longtime Notre Dame astronomy and astrophysics instructor who died in 1982. The award was endowed by Eugene T. Leonard Jr., a surgeon and 1940 alumnus of the University.p. In the Mendoza College of Business, three faculty members will receive BP Foundation Outstanding Teacher Awards: Robert Battalio, associate professor of finance; Jerry Langley, professional specialist, Department of Finance; and Elizabeth Moore, assistant professor of marketing.p. Battalio, a member of the Notre Dame faculty since 2000, specializes in security markets and market design. Langley, who joined the Notre Dame faculty in 1999, studies corporate and international finance, investment management and banking. A Notre Dame faculty member since 1999, Moore’s areas of research are marketing to children, intergenerational studies and marketing and society.p.

TopicID: 3263