All-American Football Foundation to honor Father Malloy, Kevin White, five others from Notre Dame



The All-American Football Foundation will honor seven people from the University of Notre Dame at its 80 th Banquet of Champions on Sept. 28 (Thursday) at the Chicago Athletic Club.

The event will be dedicated to Notre Dame President Emeritus Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C., and the Universitys director of athletics, Kevin White, along with the late Randy Walker, the Northwestern University football coach who died June 29 at age 52.

Father Malloy, president from 1987 to 2005, will receive the foundations Outstanding College President Award. White, who was appointed athletic director in 2000, and Northwesterns Mark Murphy, are the co-recipients of the General Robert R. Neyland Outstanding Athletic Director Award.

Other honorees from Notre Dame are:

  • Joseph Russo, longtime director of financial aid and now director of student financial strategies, and Daniel Saracino, assistant provost for enrollment, will receive the Contribution to Football Award.
  • Rick Chryst, a 1983 alumnus and now commissioner of the Mid-American Conference, is the Asa S. Bushnell Outstanding Commissioner Award winner.
  • Retired U.S. Army Sgt. George Dickson, a World War II veteran, 1950 graduate and former football player and assistant coach for the Irish, will receive the Admiral Thomas J. Hamilton Award.
  • Frank Reynolds, aChicagoattorney who earned three monograms as a halfback for Notre Dame and is a 1959 graduate, is the Bill Wade Unsung Hero Award winner.

Reservations for the dinner can be made by calling 601-206-8877.

Founded in 1994, the All-American Football Foundation is a nonprofit organization that annually awards 11 Colonel Red Blaik Scholarships and selects football all-America teams.

TopicID: 19283