28 graduates serving as college presidents


Recent presidential appointments at Saint Mary’s College and the University of Portland bring to 28 the number of University of Notre Dame graduates serving as college or university presidents.p. Carol Ann Mooney, a 1977 Notre Dame Law School graduate and currently vice president and associate provost at the University, was elected Dec. 26 as the 11th president of Saint Mary’s. She will take office June 1.p. Rev. E. William Beauchamp, C.S.C., who was graduated from Notre Dame with a law degree in 1975 and master of divinity degree in 1981, became the 19th president of Portland on Nov. 20. He previously served for 13 years as executive vice president at Notre Dame and currently is a Fellow of the University and a member of the Board of Trustees.p. Two other alumni also were elected to presidencies last year: Robert Helmer, a 1982 graduate, was appointed at Lourdes College in Sylvania, Ohio, in December after serving for the previous 11 months as acting president, and Phillip Glotzbach, a 1972 graduate, became the seventh chief executive of Skidmore College in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., in August.p. The longest serving college or university presidents with Notre Dame diplomas are Peter Sampo, the cofounder and president of Thomas More College in Merrimack, N.H., since 1978; and Warren Baker, who was elected president of California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, a year later. Both earned two degrees at Notre Dame in the 1960s.p. Notre Dame’s own president, Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C., earned three degrees from the University and has been at its helm since 1987.p. The other Notre Dame graduates now serving as presidents are:* John Dempsey, ‘67, appointed at Sandhills Community College (Pinehurst, N.C.) in 1989* Eugene Trani, ’61, Virginia Commonwealth University, 1990* Joseph McGowan,’66 and ‘68, Bellarmine University (Louisville,Ky.),1990* William Medland, ’66, Viterbo University (LaCrosse, Wis.), 1991* Thomas Dillon, ’72 and ’77, Thomas Aquinas College (Santa Paula, Calif.), 1991* Arthur Lendo, ’68, Peirce College (Philadelphia), 1991* Glen Gabert, ’68, Hudson County (N.J.) Community College, 1992* Donald Wharton, ’65, Plymouth State University (Plymouth, N.H.), 1993* Stephen Weber, ’69, San Diego State University, 1996* James Creagan, ’62, John Cabot University (Rome), 1999* Brother Michael McGinniss, F.S.C., ’78 and ’81, LaSalle University, 1999* Rev. Thomas O’Hara, C.S.C., ‘77, King’s College (Wilkes-Barre, Pa.), 1999* Thomas Gordon, ‘63, Avila University (Kansas City, Mo.), 2000* Lisa Porsche-Burke, ’81 and ’83, Phillips Graduate Institute (Encino, Calif.), 2000* Charles Dougherty, ’73 and ’75, Duquesne University (Pittsburgh), 2001* Judson Shaver, ’79 and ’84, Marymount Manhattan College, 2001* Sister Diane Steele, SCL, ’93 and ’01, University of Saint Mary, (Leavenworth, Kan.), 2001* Thomas Burish,’72, Washington and Lee University (Lexington, Va.), 2002* John Cavanaugh,’77 and ’78, University of West Florida, 2002* Steven Cramer, ’85, Bethel College (Mishawaka, Ind.), 2004* Thomas Chema, ’68, ’71, Hiram College (Hiram, Ohio), 2004

Nineteen Notre Dame graduates are past presidents of colleges or universities:* Rev. Ernest Bartell, C.S.C., ‘53, Stonehill College (Easton, Mass.)* Francis X. Beytagh Jr., ’56, Florida Coastal School of Law (Jacksonville)* James Brady,’59, Jacksonville University* Rev. Thomas E. Chambers, C.S.C., ‘56, ’62 and ’76, Our Lady of Holy Cross College (New Orleans)* Michael Conlon, ’59, State University of New York (SUNY), Binghamton* William Conroy,’53, New Mexico State University* Thomas Day, ‘52, San Diego State University* Pasquale DiPasquale, ’55, Loras College, Assumption College, Misericordia College* Very Rev. Mathias Doyle,’68, St. Bonaventure University* Robert Glennen Jr.,‘62, Emporia (Kan.) State University* William Hickey,’59 and ‘65, Saint Mary’s College* Thomas James, ‘55, Benedictine College (Atchison, Kan.)* Sister Dorothy Ann Kelly, O.S.U., ’70, College of New Rochelle (N.Y.)* Monsignor Milam Joseph, ’59, University of Dallas* Rev. Laurence Murphy, M.M.,’61 and’64, Seton Hall University* Percy Pierre, ‘61, ’63 and ’77 (honorary), Prairie View A&M University* Rev. David Tyson, C.S.C.,’70 and ’74, University of Portland* James Walker, ’64, Moorpark College

Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., Notre Dame’s president from 1952-87, attended the University for two years, then was sent as a Holy Cross seminarian to the Gregorian University in Rome to complete his undergraduate studies. He earned his doctorate from the Catholic University of America.p. p. NOTE: Careful and regular readers of Notre Dame Newswire may have noticed that the number of graduates who serve(d) as college and university presidents has grown day by day since this news release first was posted. Many thanks to those who have forwarded additions and, if you know of others, please send them to us.

TopicID: 4062