Siemens Regional Competition to be held Nov. 16 and 17



Five individuals and five teams of high school students have been selected to compete Friday and Saturday (Nov. 16 and 17) at the University of Notre Dame in the regional of the Siemens Competition in Math, Science and Technology, the nations premier science research competition for high school students.

The New Jersey-based non-profit Siemens Foundation created the competition to enhance science and mathematics education in America. It is open to individuals and teams of high school students who develop independent research projects in the physical or biological sciences or mathematics. Competitions in six regions across the United States are being held throughout November. Regional scholarship winners advance to the national competition Nov. 30 to Dec. 3 in New York City for a top individual prize of $100,000. Members of the top winning team will share a $100,000 scholarship.

The Siemens Foundation has partnered with six of Americas leading research universities to assist in judging and hosting the regional competitions throughout the fall: the Georgia Institute of Technology and the University of Texas (Nov. 2-3); California Institute of Technology and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Nov. 9-10); and Carnegie Mellon University and Notre Dame (Nov. 16-17).

The Notre Dame regional finalists will present their independent research projects to a panel of judges composed of Notre Dame faculty. The individual regional winner will receive an award of $3,000; members of the winning team will share a prize of $6,000. All regional individual and team runners-up will be awarded $1,000 scholarships.

The public can view student posters at 5:30 p.m. Nov. 16 in the study lounge of the Jordan Hall of Science.

The Notre Dame individual finalists are: Shrvani Mikkilineni, Detroit Country Upper Day School, Bloomfield Heights, Mich.; Harrison Nguyen, Detroit Central Catholic High School, Northville, Mich.; Alison Oreh, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights, Ohio;Maya Ratnam, Sylvania Southview High School, Toledo, Ohio; Nandini Sarma, Shawnee Mission East High School, Overland Park, Kan.

The Notre Dame team finalists are: Alexander Chernyakhovsky and Tong Zhan, William Mason High School, Mason, Ohio; Christopher Ding, Adams High School, Rochester, Mich.,and James Jiang, Troy High School, Troy, Mich; Gunar Litturp, Lasher High School, Bloomfield Hills, Mich., and Mikhail George, Detroit Country High School, Novi, Mich.; Rachna Reddy and Elizabeth Busdciker, Port Huron Northern High School, Fort Gratiot, Mich.; Brian Wieliczka, Rockhurst High School, Overland Park, Kan.; and Timothy Nendick, Rockhurst High School, Kansas City, Mo.

The Siemens Competition in Math, Science and Technology is a program of the Siemens Foundation, a national leader in math and science education providing nearly $2 million in scholarships and awards annually. The competition is administered by the College Board.

TopicID: 25428