Philosopher elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Author: Katie Louvat


Karl Ameriks, McMahon-Hank Professor of Philosophy at the University of Notre Dame, has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). He will be formally inducted at a ceremony in October in Cambridge, Mass.

Founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, John Hancock and others, the AAAS is the nation’s leading learned society. It recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts.

A faculty fellow in Notre Dame’s Nanovic Institute for European Studies, Ameriks specializes in the history of modern philosophy, continental philosophy, and modern German philosophy. He has dedicated much of his research to the study of Immanuel Kant about whom he has published multiple books, including “Kant and the Historical Turn” and “Karl Leonhard Reinhold, Letters on the Kantian Philosophy.”

A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 1973, Ameriks received his bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from Yale University.

Seventeen other Notre Dame faculty members have been elected to the AAAS. They are: Gerald L. Bruns, William P. and Hazel B. White Professor of English; the late George Craig, professor of biology; Roberto DaMatta, Rev. Edmund P. Joyce Professor of Anthropology; Rev. Gustavo Gutierrez, O.P., John Cardinal O’Hara Professor of Theology; Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus and professor emeritus of theology; Sabine G. MacCormack, Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., Professor of Arts and Letters; Alasdair MacIntyre, research professor of philosophy; Rev. Ernan McMullin, John Cardinal O’Hara Professor Emeritus of Philosophy; Mark Noll, Francis A. McAnaney Professor of History; Guillermo O’Donnell, professor of political science; Timothy O’Meara, provost emeritus and Howard J. Kenna Professor Emeritus of Mathematics; Alvin Plantinga, Rev. John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy; the late Philip Quinn, John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy; Ingrid Rowland, professor of architecture; Lawrence Sullivan, professor of theology; Eugene Ulrich, Rev. John A. O’Brien Professor of Theology; and Peter van Inwagen, John Cardinal O’Hara Professor of Philosophy.