Medical school dedication ceremonies scheduled for Tuesday

Author: William G. Gilroy


Dedication ceremonies for the new Ernestine Raclin and O.C. Carmichael Jr. Hall, whichhouses the Indiana University School of Medicine-South Bend and University of Notre Dame research faculty, will be held at1:30 p.m.. Tuesday (Oct. 25) in the auditorium of the new facility, located at the corner ofNotre Dame AvenueandAngela Boulevard, adjacent to the Notre Dame campus.

Twenty-eight IU medical students receive their first two years of medical school education at the 68,000-gross-square-foot facility, and faculty members perform health care research in the basic sciences.

In addition to housing medical education programs for the IU School of Medicine and Notre Dame, the second floor of Raclin-Carmichael Hall is home to Notre DamesW.M.KeckCenterfor Transgene Research, which concentrates on medical research, where IU and Notre Dame researchers collaborate on the study of cancer, infectious diseases, hemostasis, and devices and materials.

The ground floor of Raclin-Carmichael Hall features research space with modern gross-anatomy laboratories and an animal facility used for joint scientific study by both universities. The new facility also was designed to serve the public and the larger community, with the 250-seat auditorium providing a state-of-the-art forum where national and international experts can address subjects of interest to university students, faculty, medical professionals and the general public.

Rudolph M. Navari, director of Notre DamesWaltherCancerResearchCenter, also serves as director of the IU School of Medicine-South Bend.

Adam W. Herbert, president ofIndianaUniversity, will preside over Tuesdays dedication ceremonies. Other participants include: Notre Dame President Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C.; B. Patrick Bauer,South Bendstate representative; Stephen B. Leapman, executive associate dean for educational affairs for the IU School of Medicine; Cora Smith Breckenridge, Indiana University trustee; Katie Anne Ellgass, an IU medical school student; Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., Notre Dames president emeritus; Patrick F. McCartan, chair of Notre Dames Board of Trustees; benefactor Ernestine Morris Raclin; and Navari.

Raclin and her husband, Robert L. Raclin, have a distinguished record of service in the public and private sectors. She has served on the boards of numerous corporations and holds past directorships with many other organizations. A devoted supporter of higher education, she chairs the advisory board of Indiana University South Bend, serves on the IU Foundation Board of Directors, and is a life trustee of Notre Dame.

Raclins late husband, O.C. Carmichael, better known asMike,died in 1976. An educator and business executive, he was a leader in civic, political and philanthropic endeavors and served as a trusted adviser to colleges and universities. He was a long-time supporter of both Notre Dame and Indiana University South Bend.

In 1956, Carmichael was elected president ofConverseCollege, a position he held until 1960. At the time of his death, he was board chairman for FBT Bancorp, the holding company for First Bank and Trust Company, and numerous other financial firms.

TopicID: 14122