Father Malloy to be inducted in South Bend Hall of Fame



Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C., president of the University of Notre Dame from 1987 to 2005, will be inducted Tuesday (Nov. 15) into the South Bend Community Hall of Fame at the South Bend Alumni Associations 19 th annual induction banquet atCenturyCenter.

The association honors people who have contributed significantly to the image, development and welfare of the community by their service to others and/or their personal achievements. Six other longtime community leaders will join Father Malloy as members of the Hall of Fame class of 2005.

During Father Malloys 18 years as president, Notre Dame experienced rapid growth in its reputation due to substantive improvements in the size and scholarly credentials of its faculty, the academic quality and diversity of the student body, and its financial resources and physical infrastructure. Away from campus, he served on numerous boards and commissions locally and nationally with a focus on volunteerism and fighting alcohol and drug abuse.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, the South Bend Alumni Association will present three other awards at the event:

  • TheRobinsonCommunityLearningCenter, established by Notre Dame in 2001 to provide educational, cultural, health and faith-based activities in the Northeast Neighborhood, will receive the annual Corporate Award for contributions to education.
  • The Outstanding Achievement Award will be presented to Jacqueline Batteast, a 2005 graduate of Notre Dame and an All-America basketball player for the Irish, and NASCAR driver Ryan Newman.
  • Former U.S. Rep. Tim Roemer, a graduate of Notre Dame with masters and doctoral degrees in government and international relations, will receive the Baldoni Public Service Award.

Father Malloy also will be honored Wednesday (Nov. 16) by the Boys&Girls Clubs of Chicago at its fifth annual Midwest Chairmens Dinner at the Hilton Chicago Towers. In recognition of his work as a member of the national board of directors for the Boys&Girls Clubs since 1997, Father Malloy will be presented the Presidents Award.

TopicID: 14522