Bohn named 2010 Redwood Award winner

by Nina Welding

Bohn, Paul

Paul W. Bohn, Arthur J. Schmitt Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, director of the Advanced Diagnostics and Therapeutics (AD&T) initiative, and concurrent professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame, has been named the recipient of the 2010 Theophilus Redwood Award by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The award is presented annually to a leading analytical scientist who is an outstanding communicator. Sponsored by the Analytical Chemistry Trust Fund, it is named in honor of Redwood, who was a founding member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain and president of the Society of Public Analysts. He also was the first president of The Society for Analytical Chemistry, which later merged with the Chemical Society.

Bohn was cited specifically “for the breadth and impact of his contribution to analytical science in the areas of microfluidics and nanoscale chemical sensing.” His research interests encompass molecular transport on the nanoscale, chemical sensors and molecular approaches to nanotechnology, including but not limited to handheld devices for personalized health care and environmental monitoring applications (lab-on-a-chip).

A member of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Bohn has received numerous awards, including the 2006 Research Team Award from the U.S. Army Construction Engineering Research Laboratory; the 2005 Bomem-Michelson Award from the Coblentz Society, presented to scientists who have advanced the techniques of vibrational, molecular, Raman or electronic spectroscopy in memory of Professor A.A. Michelson, developer of the Michelson interferometer; the 2004 Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of spectroscopy; and the Spectrochemical Analysis Award from the ACS.

A 1977 Notre Dame graduate, Bohn received his doctorate in chemistry from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. He has been a member of the Notre Dame faculty since 2006.