Bob Mundy elected to board of The Common Application

by Dennis Brown

Bob Mundy Bob Mundy

Bob Mundy, director of admissions at the University of Notre Dame, has been elected to the Board of Directors for The Common Application, a leading higher education membership organization, by the chief admission officers at the colleges and universities who make up the group’s membership. His four-year term will run through August 2019.

“Bob Mundy has been an active leader and voice for admissions practices that support high school students,” said Don Bishop, associate vice president for undergraduate enrollment at Notre Dame. “We are delighted that his peers across the nation have now placed him in an important and influential position that will enable him to continue his advocacy for improving the application experience for students and recruitment and selection processes for the colleges.”

Mundy earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Notre Dame, where he began his admissions work in 1983. His career spans over 30 years and includes engagement in multiple major software implementations such as central student information systems, a document management product and a client relationship manager.

Notre Dame became a member of The Common Application in 2008 and later began using the Common Application as the sole application for undergraduate admission. Each year, more than 850,000 students use the Common Application to submit over 3.5 million applications to a broad and diverse group of colleges and universities.

“Removing the barriers for students seeking the advantage of a college education has been central to the mission of The Common Application for more than 40 years,” Mundy said. “Working with colleges, universities, counselors and partner organizations, I look forward to continued engagement anchored by the guiding principle of service to students.”

Mundy joins a board led by chair Gil Villanueva, associate vice president and dean of admission at the University of Richmond, and Lee Ann Backlund at Sewanee: The University of the South; Mary Lou Bates, Skidmore College; Danya Berry, Dayton Early College Academy; Eric J. Furda, University of Pennsylvania; Patrick O’Connor, Cranbrook Kingswood School; Jenny Rickard, University of Puget Sound; Greg Roberts, University of Virginia; Rob Springall, Bucknell University; Gail Sweezey, Gettysburg College; Mitchell Thompson, Scarsdale High School; and Chris White, High Tech High.