Bishop D'Arcy to receive award for service to Notre Dame and Congregation of Holy Cross


Bishop John M. D?Arcy of the Diocese of Fort Wayne/South Bend has been named recipient of the 2003 Rev. Howard J. Kenna, C.S.C., Award for service to the University of Notre Dame and the Congregation of Holy Cross, the religious order which founded it.p. “As pastor of our home diocese, Bishop D’Arcy has been a wise leader, a kind friend, and an apostolic witness for the Notre Dame and Holy Cross communities,” said Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C. “It is both a privilege and a pleasure to celebrate the blessings of his ministry with this award.” The Rev. Howard J. Kenna, C.S.C. Award was established in 1988 by Notre Dame and the Indiana Province of the Congregation of Holy Cross in memory of a provincial superior of the Indiana Province who died in 1973. It honors men and women who have given exemplary service to the Congregation and the University.p. A Boston native and the son of Irish immigrants, Bishop D’Arcy was born Aug. 18, 1932. He studied at Saint John’s Seminary in Brighton, Mass., and was ordained to the priesthood on Feb. 2, 1957. He studied in Rome at the Angelicum, from which he received a doctorate in spiritual theology in 1968. He was ordained as auxiliary bishop of Boston Feb. 14, 1975. He also served as spiritual director and professor of spiritual theology at Saint John’s Seminary from 1968-85. On May 1, 1985, he was installed as the eighth bishop of Fort Wayne/South Bend. He received an honorary doctor of laws degree from Notre Dame in 1988.p. Father Kenna served Notre Dame from 1936-50 as a professor of mathematics, a residence hall prefect, assistant director and director of studies, and as the University’s first vice president for academic affairs. Leaving Notre Dame in 1950, he served the Congregation of Holy Cross in several positions, including assistant superior general, superior of Holy Cross College in Washington, D.C., and president of the University of Portland. He was elected superior of the Indiana Province of the Holy Cross order in 1962 and served in that position until 1973, the year he died.

TopicID: 4149