5 professors earn NEH Awards; ND leads nation for past 8 years

Author: Dennis Brown


Five University of Notre Dame faculty members have received research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for 2007, bringing to 29 the number of NEH fellowships awarded to Notre Dame in the past eight years, more than any other university in the nation.

This years NEH recipients from Notre DamesCollegeofArtsand Letters are:

  • Michael Brownstein, associate professor of East Asian languages and literatures, for a project titledFour Japanese Melodramas.
  • Margaret Doody, John and Barbara Glynn Professor of Literature, for “The Mystics’ Enlightenment: Pico, della Mirandola, Paracelsus and Jacob Boehme.”
  • Mary Ann Burgess Smyth, assistant professor of English, forBritish Modernism and the Four Nations.
  • James Turner, Rev. John J. Cavanaugh, C.S.C., Professor of Humanities and professor of history, forPhilology and the Shaping of the Modern Humanities.
  • Catherine Zuckert,NancyReeves Dreux Professor of Political Science, forMachiavellian Politics.

NEH fellowships support advanced research that contributes to scholarly knowledge or to the general publics understanding of the humanities. Recipients usually produce articles, monographs on specialized subjects, books on broad topics, archaeological site reports, translations, editions, or other scholarly tools.

The Notre Dame faculty members are among 161 scholars who received fellowships and faculty research awards in the most recent NEH award cycle.

TopicID: 20924