Four graduates to be honored by Alumni Association

Author: Shannon Chapla

Four University of Notre Dame graduates will be honored by the Notre Dame Alumni Association during ceremonies on campus next week.p. ? The Rev. Arthur S. Harvey, C.S.C., Award, which recognizes achievements in the performing arts, will be presented to John P. Santos, a 1979 graduate and the first Mexican-American Rhodes scholar, in honor of his work as an award-winning writer, producer and documentary filmmaker.p. The producer of more than 40 documentaries on culture, religion, politics and spirituality, Santos received Emmy Award nominations for “Exiles Who Never Left Home” and “From the AIDS Experience.” He has worked both on- and off-camera for CBS News and PBS and serves on the Presidential Advisory Commission on Excellence in Education for Hispanic Americans.p. ? William J. Schickel, a 1944 graduate who directs the Maritain Gallery in Loveland, Ohio, will receive the Rev. Anthony J. Lauck, C.S.C., Award, for outstanding accomplishments in the fine and visual arts.p. Honored for his creations of religious art, Schickel is a painter, sculptor, stained glass maker, and architectural and furniture designer, whose creations include the triangular drinking fountain at Notre Dame’s Grotto. Schickel received the American Institute of Architecture Gold Medal Award for his renovation of the Abbey of Gethsemani in Trappist, Ky., and also designed the renovation of the National Shrine of Philippine Duchesne in St. Charles, Mo.p. ? The Rev. Robert F. Griffin, C.S.C., Award will be presented to Nicholas Sparks, a 1988 graduate, University benefactor and best-selling author, in honor of his literary achievements.p. Sparks’ is the author of “The Notebook,” “The Rescue,” “A Bend in the Road,” “Message in a Bottle,” “A Walk to Remember,” “Nights in Rodanthe,” “The Guardian” and “The Wedding.” “Message in a Bottle” and “A Walk to Remember” have been made into major motion pictures, and Sparks currently is adapting “The Rescue” for a television series.p. A former track and field record-setter at Notre Dame, Sparks and his wife, Cathy, have donated $1.5 million to the University’s Master of Fine Arts Program in creative writing.p. ? Dr. Paul Wright, a 1972 graduate and former cardiologist for Mother Teresa, will receive the Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Award for his record of outstanding humanitarian service.p. A volunteer for Mother Teresa’s Missionaries of Charity, which comforts the destitute, abandoned and dying, Wright attended Mother Teresa’s beatification ceremony in October at the Vatican. He co-founded the ?Poorest of the Poor? project, which currently directs 80,000 pounds of food and supplies per month for distribution in Appalachia, and also developed “Medication Mission,” which has provided the poor with $800,000 worth of free prescription drugs since last May.p. Wright is the chief cardiologist at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Warren, Ohio, chairman of its coronary care committee and intensive care department, and director of the congestive heart program.

TopicID: 4065