Philosopher elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Author: Shannon Chapla

Philip Quinn, John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy at the University of Notre Dame, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He will be formally inducted in October at the House of the Academy in Cambridge, Mass.p. Founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, John Hancock and others, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is the nation’s leading learned society. It recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts.p. “The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is unique for its breadth and scope,” said Leslie C. Berlowitz, the organization’s executive officer. “Throughout its history, the academy has gathered individuals with diverse perspectives to participate in studies and projects focusing on advancing intellectual thought and constructive action in American society.”p. Quinn, who specializes in the study of philosophy of space and time, and issues in ethics and science, is the author of “Divine Commands and Moral Requirements” and co-editor and contributor to “A Companion to Philosophy of Religion.” He has held numerous leadership positions with the American Philosophical Association, including division president, vice president and secretary-treasurer, and has served as chair of the Committee on Career Opportunities, the Nominating Committee, and the National Board of Officers.p. Nine other Notre Dame faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In the order of their election they are: Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus and professor emeritus of theology; Alvin Plantinga, Rev. John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy; Alasdair MacIntyre, research professor of philosophy; Rev. Ernan McMullin, John Cardinal O’Hara Professor Emeritus of Philosophy; Timothy O’Meara, provost emeritus and Howard J. Kenna Professor of Mathematics; Guillermo O’Donnell, professor of political science; Roberto DaMatta, Edmund P. Joyce Professor of Anthropology; Eugene Ulrich, Rev. John A. O’Brien Professor of Theology; and Rev. Gustavo Gutierrez, O.P., John Cardinal O’Hara Professor of Theology.p.

TopicID: 3269